First Time Blogger

February 16, 2010 kk00700

I am in a Public Relations Writing class at Georgia Southern University and a requirement is to blog. Prior to the class I had heard of blogging and thought it was stupid. When I found out that I had to do it for this class I was not thrilled. I set up the account and began to blog. I did exactly what was needed and nothing more. I was just on here trying to figure out the posts that I need to put up for the week and realized that I was doing it all wrong! I had my separate categories for all the different parts for the class but I kept editing the already posted blog. I would open and add what was the next needed thing. When I was on my teacher’s website there was a video about each new blog and I knew something was wrong.

So I have not slept all night long because I have been hyper and rolling around trying to sleep so decided that I should try to be productive. Looking at all of the work that I needed to accomplish this week is lighter than the past two hectic ones. Although this would give some time to really concentrate on my blogs. This morning fooling around on here I saw the button at the top of the page above my site name saying New Post. I clicked it and of course it is what I was supposed to be doing all along. Whoops! I guess I will leave my previous ones the way that they are so that it does not look like I am just getting started. Luckily now I understand this whole blogging thing better and hopefully I just keep improving!

Entry Filed under: Personal - PR 3330

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. carriebethabramson  |  February 22, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    I felt the exact same way about blogging at first and started out just doing the minimum, but now when I’m bored I blog a lot. Plus, I thought it was extremely complicated whereas with Twitter, all you have to do is write one sentence and you’re done. The more I have been exploring around the website, the more things I’ve realized I can do with my blog to make it more interesting to readers! You should try connecting your Twitter account to your blog so it shows up on WordPress, I think it makes you look like an experienced blogger!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Categories

Recent Posts

 
