The Lead Lab Reaction

March 7, 2010 kk00700

The NewsU The Lead Lab course was extremely helpful in writing a lead to a story. I understood the concept of writing a lead but now after going through all of the exercises and little quizzes I have improved drastically. I learned that your lead is supposed to be 1 to 3 sentences long and should include the basics of the story as well as making it interesting and cause the reader to want to continue to read the story.

My lead in a story would always be too long. I thought that it was important to include all of the information at once but once I took the course it explained that you do not do that. Instead you give the basics and get into more of the detail within the rest of the story. If I put all of the key information in the lead and then just had the other less important key messages at the end it would cause no one to read past the lead of the story.

The main thing that surprised me was how short the lead is supposed to be. The lead is only supposed to be 1 to 3 sentences long when I thought it was supposed to be the same as any other paragraph. I would always clutter the lead when it is supposed to be short and to the point.

Something that I would like to know more about is what exactly would be a perfect lead. During the course it gives you examples of good leads and others that are not as well written. I wish that during the course it would give you the “perfect lead.” I know being perfect is hard to do but I would like to know how my lead could be improved even more. The more I practice writing leads the better I will become but I would want to know what the trick is for the news writers.

The NewsU The Lead Lab course     

Week 8 – Topic of the Week Reaction to NewsU Course

Entry Filed under: Topic Of The Week - PR 3330

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Categories

Recent Posts

 
